top of page

Songs for my cats

As a 'mad cat woman' I always find myself talking to my girls, Jinx and Spud, answering them - if they don't deign to talk back to me -and, of course, singing songs to them.

I have looked into this phenomena and have found out that I am not actually on my own in this strange behaviour. Lots of cat lovers also sing songs to them; either changing words to songs, making up their own ones or just fitting them around their beloved felines

Here is a list of some of the ones that I often sing to my girls - the real words are in brckets. No doubt that once I have compiled the list I will find some more - spoiling your cats is after all a day to day experience!

For Jinx:

The beautiful one (s) - Suede

The most beautiful girl in the world - Prince

Beautiful Girl (Boy) - John Lennon

You're beautiful - James Blunt

The most beautiful girl in the world - Charlie Rich

Jinkle (Jingle) Bells

(There seems to be a bit of a theme here!)

For Spud:

Spood (Dude) looks like a lady - Aerosmith

Spud (love) in an elevator - Aerosmith

All the young Spoods (Dudes) - David Bowie

Spud (I) can't get no satisfaction - Rolling Stones

Something in the woodshed - The Divine Comedy

The girls don't seem to mind being sung to; Jinx in fact will join in when I sing James Blunt to her. However they feel I will continue to sing, making up many more lyrics and changing tunes to accommodate them.

bottom of page